9781459805439_cover Enlarge Cover
0 of 5
0 ratings
rated!
rated!
list price: $10.95
edition:Paperback
also available: Audiobook eBook
category: Children's Fiction
published: Oct 2014
ISBN:9781459805439
publisher: Orca Book Publishers

Sleeper

by Eric Walters

tagged: mysteries & detective stories, europe
Description

DJ jets across the Atlantic to England to follow a series of obscure clues and symbols he hopes will reveal the truth about his grandfather. In London, he stays with Doris, the elderly woman he climbed Mount Kilimanjaro with. Laid up with a broken ankle, Doris has her grandchild, Charlie, offer assistance. Charlie—short for Charlotte—is a beautiful model who is romantically (and secretly) linked to a member of the British Royal Family. Spies, guns, double agents, the Cambridge Five and a vintage E-Type Jag are a few of the things DJ and Charlie encounter on an adventure that makes climbing Kilimanjaro look like a walk in the park.
Sleeper is the sequel to both Jungle Land, part of The Seven Prequels and Between Heaven and Earth, part of Seven (The Series).

About the Author
Eric Walters began writing in 1993 as a way to entice his grade 5 students into becoming more interested in reading and writing. Walters has now published 120 novels and picture books. His novels have become bestsellers, been translated into 16 languages, and won over 100 awards, including 8 Forest of Reading awards and the 2020 Governor General’s Literary Award. He conceived of the I Read Canadian Day and is a tireless presenter, speaking to over 100,000 students per year across North America. In 2014, Walters was named a Member of The Order of Canada. He lives in Guelph, ON with his wife, Anita, and they have 3 grown children – Christina, Nicholas, and Julia – and 6 grandchildren.
Recommended Age, Grade, and Reading Levels
Age:
9 to 12
Grade:
4 to 7
Reading age:
9 to 12
Editorial Reviews

"Sleeper will be the answer to all 'Which book should I read next?' questions this upcoming school year. It has something for everyone—strong male character, strong female character, mystery, spies, action, travel, fast cars, good role models, history and, yes, even a touch of a love story. Everyone should read Sleeper and when you read one, you'll be sure to read them all!"

— Hot Cup of Tea and a Good Book blog

"What a great way to take readers from David McLean directing the actions of his grandsons, as he did in the Seven Series, to the boys looking to new adventures, pursuing their own suspicions and curiosity about their grandfather, and embarking on adventures that will put their intrepid natures to the test in more daring situations. Sleeper introduces the theme of espionage and hidden identities in an intriguing manner...[It] is a propitious beginning for my reading of The Seven Sequels. Make it one of yours too."

— CanLit for Little Canadians blog

"The setting is vibrant, and the thrills are a mile-a-minute. Fans of James Bond, Jason Bourne, and other action/espionage heroes will find much to love in Walters’ latest book for young readers. Highly Recommended."

— CM Magazine

"Flashy, quick and fun...A perfect Robert Ludlum-esque redux for the middle-grade set."

— Quill & Quire

"This thrill-a-minute series will hook reluctant readers as well as fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne."

— School Library Journal

"Part Holmes-ian mystery and part James Bond adventure, DJ's quest requires both intellect and an unflappable resolve...[A] solid nod to the British spy and mystery legacy. A fast-paced, enjoyable entrée to this mystery/adventure series."

— Kirkus Reviews

Buy the e-book:

X
Contacting facebook
Please wait...